All Metrodome team

Voting for the Twins All-Metrodome Team was split into three phases, including the fans, the Upper Midwest media and a veteran’s committee made up of Twins alumni, front office representatives and team historians. In total, more than 100,000 votes were cast by the fans at

Created by an oversight committee featuring Twins historians Tom Mee, Dave Mona and Stew Thornley, the Twins All-Metrodome Team ballot included the names of 66 players and three managers who anchored the Twins teams throughout the Dome era. Each of the three voting groups (fans, media and veteran’s committee) counted one-third toward the final balloting results with the top vote getter at M, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, C and DH; the top three vote getters at OF and SP; and the top two vote getters at RP automatically named to the team. The All-Metrodome Team oversight committee reserved the right to name up to three additional players to the final All-Metrodome Team roster based on overall vote totals. Players added by the oversight committee included Blyleven, Morneau and Brunansky.

The 18-man All-Metrodome Team, was officially introduced as part of the special on-field ceremony following the Twins final regular season home game Sunday, October 4, 2009 versus the Kansas City Royals.

Tom Kelly managed the Twins from 1986 - 2001 and led the team to World Series victories in 1987 and 1991.

Catcher Joe Mauer won batting titles in 2006, 2008, and 2009 and was the AL MVP in 2009.

Kent Hrbek was a slick fielding power hitting 1B who played in the Metrodome from 1983 - 1994 and hit more home runs in the Dome, 156, than anyone in history.

A power hitting 1B Justin Morneau made the All-Star team between 2007 - 2009 and played in the Metrodome from 2003 - 2009. Morneau was the AL MVP in 2006.

Chuck Knoblauch was the Twins first round pick in 1989 and was the AL Rookie of the Year in 1991 and an All-Star in 1992, 1994, 1996 and 1997. Knobby played in the Dome from 1991 - 1997.

The All-Metrodome shortstop is the slick fielding Greg Gagne who played in the Dome from 1983 - 1992 and posted a .980 fielding percentage as a Twin. Gagne had a little pop in his bat too, hitting 46 balls over the fences in the Metrodome.

One of my favorite Twins players, Gary Gaetti is the starting 3B on this team. Gaetti played in the Metrodome from 1982 - 1990. Gary took a "liking" to the Dome the first time he played there by going 4-4 and hitting 2 home runs. Gaetti was an All-Star in 1988 and 1989 and was the 3B on the 1987 World Championship team.

The slugging Tom Brunansky patroled right field in the Metrodome from 1982 - 1988 and hit 129 home runs there. Brunasky was a member of the 1987 championship team.

HOF Kirby Puckett played centerfield in the Metrodome from 1984 - 1995. A member of the 1987 and 1991 World Championship teams, his .344 career average, 239 doubles, 626 runs and 38 triples are the most in Metrodome history. Kirby's game winning home run in Game 6 of the 1991 World Series off Charlie Leibrandt is one for the ages.

The ever smiling Torii Hunter took over center from Puckett and played in the Dome from 1997 - 2007. He helped the Twins to four division titles and won seven gold gloves with the Twins. Torii hit .324 in 10 playoff games at the Metrodome.

The Twins fiery left fielder played on both the 87 and 91 championship teams. Gladden went 3-for-5 in the 1991 Game 7 and scored the winning run in the 10th inning against Atlanta.

The DH on this team is HOF Paul Molitor who played in 219 games at the Metrodome from 1996 - 1998. In those 219 games, he batted .327 with 53 doubles, nine triples, 11 home runs and 142 RBI.

Brad Radke pitched for the Twins from 1995 - 2006. Most wins (85), strikeouts (839), and innings pitched (1,309.1) in Metrodome history. Radke made the 1998 All-Star team after winning 20 games in 1997.

Frank Viola called the Metrodome home from 1982 - 1989. Second most wins in Dome history (59) and innings pitched (934.0). Viola was 3-1 in the 1987 postseason, winning Games 1 and 7 of the 1987 World Series.

Johan Santana pitched for Minnesota from 2000 -2007. Santana is tied for third most wins in Dome history (46) and second-most strikeouts (754). Johan was a three-time All-Star and won Cy Young Awards in 2004 and 2006. Won 17 consecutive games in the Dome from 2005-2007.

HOF Bert Blyleven's second tour with Minnesota took place from 1985-1988. Blyleven was a starting pitcher on the 1987 World Championship team. Bert posted a 3-1 record in the 1987 postseason, winning Game 2 in the World Series.

Joe Nathan, a four-time All-Star pitched in the Metrodome as the Twins closer from 2004 - 2009, saving 125 games, the most in Dome history.

Rick Aguilera pitched in the Metrodome for the Twins from 1989-1999 except for the second half of 1995 when he was with Boston. Aguilera's 116 Twins saves in the Metrodome put him number 2 on the list just behind Joe Nathan. Rick was an All-Star in 1991-1993.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *