All-Star selections

2014-MLB-ASG-LogoThat time is here again, time to pick the All-Star team. For me it is always fun to pick the players that I think deserve to play in MLB All-Star game.  Some of them might crash and burn and even find themselves in the minors before the season ends and some of them may be total jerks in how they play the game, interact with their fans or just have an “it is all about me attitude” but I like to reward the players that are having a very good season todate. So here are my All-Stars that I would like to see play at Target Field on July 15, 2014. If you like my picks, cool, if you don’t, I don’t care. I don’t rave about how stupid some of the fans voting is so I too am entitled to my opinion.

Sadly you won’t find any Minnesota Twins on this deserving All-Star starter list but I do think that closer Glen Perkins and catcher Kurt Suzuki deserve to be on the team.

American League

C – Derek Norris (A’s) – Runner-up is Salvador Perez (Royals) – Vote leader is Matt Wieters (Orioles)

1B – Jose Abreu (White Sox) – Runner-up is Miguel Cabrera (Tigers) – Vote leader is Miguel Cabrera

2B – Jose Altuve (Astros) – Runner-up is Robinson Cano (Mariners) – Vote leader is Robinson Cano

SS – Alexei Ramirez (White Sox) – Runner-up is Alcides Escobar (Royals) – Vote leader is Derek Jeter (Yankees)

3B – Josh Donaldson (A’s) – Runner-up is Adrian Beltre (Rangers) – Vote leader is Josh Donaldson

DH – Edwin Encarnacion (Blue Jays) – Runner-up is Nelso Cruz (Orioles) – Vote leader is Nelso Cruz

OF – Mike Trout (Angels), Jose Bautista (Blue Jays), and Michael Brantley (Indians) – Runner-ups are Yoenis Cespedes (A’s), Adam Jones (Orioles), and Melky Cabrera (Blue Jays) – Vote leaders are Mike Trout, Jose Bautista and Yoenis Cespedes

P – Masahiro Tanaka (Yankees) – Runner-up is Felix Hernandez (Mariners)


National league

C – Jonathan Lucroy (Brewers) – Runner-up is Devin Mesoraco (Reds) – Vote leader is Yadier Molina (Cardinals)

1B – Justin Morneau (Rockies) – Runner-up is Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks) – Vote leader is Paul Goldschmidt

2B – Anthony Rendon (Nationals) – Runner-up is Chase Utley (Phillies) – Vote leadr is Chase Utley

SS – Troy Tulowitzki (Rockies) – Runner-up is Sterling Castro (Cubs) – Voye leader is Troy Tulowitzki

3B – Casey McGehee (Marlins) – Runner-up is Todd Frazier (Reds) – Vote leader is Aramis Ramirez (Brewers)

OF – Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins), Andrew McCutchen (Pirates), and Carlos Gomez (Brewers) Runner-ups are Charlie Blackmon (Rockies), Yasiel Puig, and Ryan Braun – Vote leaders are Andrew McCutchen, Carlos Gomez, and Yasiel Puig.

P – Adam Wainwright (Cardinals) – Runner-up is Johnny Cueto (Reds)


MLB just announced that All-Stars will wear the same cap template which is modeled after the Minnesota Twins 1970 batting helmets.  you can see the article here.


This entry was posted in General Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.