2012 Little League World Series underway

The 2012 Little League World Series began play in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania on August 16 and will culminate with the championship game on August 26. This year is the 66th playing of the Little League World Series. The sixteen-team tournament has eight International teams (Caribbean, Japan, Canada, Europe, Mexico, Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa and Latin America) and eight U.S. teams (New England, Northwest, Southeast, Great Lakes, Mid-Atlantic, West, Southwest, and Midwest). In 2011, the Ocean View Little League of Huntington Beach, California defeated Hamamatsu Minami Little League of Hamamatsu City, Japan 2–1 in the World Championship game.

Three former Minnesota Twins players have participated in this grand event.

  • Minnesota Twins prospect Clete Thomas was a member of the 1996 Panama City, Florida club that advanced to United States final before losing to Cranston, Rhode Island.
  • Minnesota Twins infielder Sean Burroughs, who was the ninth overall pick in the 1998 First-Year Player Draft was a member of both the 1992 and 1993 Long Beach, California teams that won back-to-back Little League World Series titles.
  • Jason Marquis a Twins pitcher earlier this season and currently with the San Diego Padres was a member of the Staten Island, NY 1991 LLWS team.

Six Little League teams from Minnesota that have gone on to play in the Little League Baseball World Series. Players for each team are typically the “All Stars” from the geographic area of each league. The players are chosen after the Little League regular season has ended. The Minnesota teams that have participated are listed below. Most of these Minnesota teams have been able to get past the first round, but no Minnesota team has made it beyond round two of Little League Baseball World Series play.

1963 – Duluth Central LL team from the Duluth area
1985 East Tonka LL from the Minnetonka area
1994 Brooklyn Center American LL from the Brooklyn Center area
1995 Little Lakes West LL from the Arden Hills area
2007 Coon Rapids National LL from the Coon Rapids area
2010 Plymouth-New Hope LL from the Plymouth area

The only two players  to participate in a Little League World Series, a College World Series and a MLB World Series are Ed Vosberg and Jason Varitek.


This entry was posted in General Blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.