Senator’s Tidbits

July 4, 2008 – The team played in two stadiums, American League Park in 1901 through 1902 and then played in Griffith Stadium from 1903 through 1960. Griffith Stadium as known as National Park from 1903 through 1920.

Washington’s best season was in 1933 when their record was 99-53. Their worst season was in 1904 when their record was 38-113.

The team made World Series appearances in 1924, 1925, and 1933 with their only World Series championship in 1924.

Team colors were Navy, White, and Red.

Sixteen players with Washington Senators roots are in the major league Baseball Hall of Fame.

The Washington franchise hosted two All-Star games, in 1937 and again in 1956.

The Senators had two rookie of the year winners, ironically they were both outfielders and they were back to back in 1958 (Albie Pearson) and 1959 (Bob Allison).

The Senator’s never had a Cy Young award winner but did have 3 MVP winners. Walter Johnson a right handed pitcher won in 1913 and again in 1924. Roger Peckinpaugh, a shortstop, won the award in 1925.

Two Washington Senator pitchers threw no hitters, Walter Johnson in 1920 and Bob Burke in 1931.

Four Washington batters hit for the cycle, Otis Clymer in 1908, Goose Goslin in 1924, Joe Cronin in 1929, and Mickey Vernon in 1946.

In their final year in Washington, the Senators finished in 5th place with a 73-81 record.

This entry was posted in Washington Senators 1901-1960 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.